Review: Revlon Super Lustrous Lipstick in Pink in the Afternoon

Forgive me. I will babble a bit.

Honestly, I never had such a preference for pinks. My first lipstick was a red one and I’ve stuck to deep shades ever since. I do have some pinks in my stash though, but mostly they come in fuschia or some raging hot pink. I’ve tried light pink and corals too, some creamy and some sheer, but they never sat well on my lips. Instead of brightening my face, they made me look washed out.

However, I found a new love for plums and berry shades last year and purchased MAC Craving. I also decided to step out of my comfort zone and purchase a rosy pink lipstick along with it which was MAC Mehr. To my surprise, despite the color, I really did loved how it looked on me.

I guess that’s what started my love affair with pinks. I found that just like a beautiful red, there is really a perfect pink lipstick for everyone. I believe mine to be Revlon’s Pink in the Afternoon.

image

Pink in the Afternoon is a muted rosy pink with peachy undertones in a creme formulation. It’s one of Revlon’s famous lipsticks (Breakfast at Tiffany’s anyone?) from their Super Lustrous Line. I’ve read a lot of good reviews about this lipstick, saw a lot of swatches and really… it suits all skintones. It’s also pigmented enough for my liking. The color isn’t too bright nor too pale. It’s perfect for everyday use as it is very versatile.

image

The wear time on me is about 4-5 hours. Also, my lips aren’t very dry in a sense but I find that the color can cling onto dry patches. So, you know the drill: exfoliate the lips and moisturize.

Here are photos of me wearing Pink in the Afternoon. I apologize for the quality as this was taken from my phone before I rushed out for a doctor’s appointment.

wpid-2014-06-06-12.00.21-1.jpg.jpeg wpid-2014-06-06-11.59.45-1.jpg.jpeg

Have you tried any lipstick from Revlon’s Super Lustrous line? What’s your perfect pink lipstick?

 

P.S.

Follow my blog with Bloglovin. ♡

13 thoughts on “Review: Revlon Super Lustrous Lipstick in Pink in the Afternoon

  1. Pink in the Afternoon looks great on you, Jae. It’s funny because I’m not attracted to pinks but recently I checked my makeup stash and found out I own more pink lipstick shades than I ought to be.

  2. I haven’t tried this line. I’ve only tried their lip butters and moon drops lipstick. But this one looks really nice for everyday wear! My favorite pink lippie would have to be Etude House Look at My Lips Ladylike Pink. 🙂

    • Yes, I agree. It looks nice for everyday wear but you can pair this lippie with a smokey eye look too. 😉 Oh, and I love their Lip Butters!

      x

  3. A little bit of babbling is always good. I wouldn’t know how to start my post without it. LOL
    I have a stick of this and adore it. Although it is a bit too warm to be my “the pink” lipstick, it is such a beautiful color with a retro flair to it.
    Pink In The Afternoon looks truly gorgeous on you! 🙂

    • It does have a retro flair to it! 😉 Soo Audrey Hepburn (though this color turns a bit peach on her than pink lol). XD Not a lot of cool-toned pinks suit me sadly 😦

Leave a Reply

